G1 and MyTouch random reboot on Android 1.5

Yesterday evening I was researching to see if my Dream would automatically turn the GPS on when 911 was dialed. I didn’t manage to find the answer to my question but I came across this article on CNet. Apperently the T-Mobile G1 and MyTouch (AKA Dream and Magic) had a problem on Android 1.5 that would on some devices reboot the phone after 911 was dialed.

The update will be delivered to customers over the coming days, and though it’s not considered to be a major upgrade to the operating system, Android 1.6 does bring a number of new features and enhancements and fixes a bug that would reboot the phone after dialing 911.

I’m not sure if this bug is also in HTC’s version of Android 1.5 but even if we don’t get any further upgrades to the OS this should be addressed by HTC if it affects our devices. Hopefully if this bug does affect our devices, the fix is part of the update that they are currently working on.

I still don’t know if the GPS turns on when 911 is dialed. When I sent the information on the 911 reboot to @RogersMary I also asked her to look into that for me, I’ll post back with any information that I get.

gbd

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “G1 and MyTouch random reboot on Android 1.5”

  1. Rogers confirms 911/GPS bug affects Magic as well as Dream « The GreatBigDog Report Says:

    […] on to HTC and Rogers through @RogersMary back in December, you can read about it in my post here. Mike Schmidt has updated his post on the iwantmyonepointsix.com site to reflect this new […]

Leave a Reply

